Dickinson College
Dickinson College Dickinson College

Herta Mueller receives the Nobel Prize
October 8, 2009

Herta Mueller, winner of the 2009 Nobel Prize for Literature
Herta Müller, an honorary Dickinson fellow and a former writer-in-residence at the college, was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature on October 8, 2009.

Join us in congratulating Herta Müller on winning the 2009 Nobel Prize for Literature.

Herta Müller, an honorary fellow of the college and a former Dickinson writer-in-residence, is only the 12th woman to win the prize since 1901. Müller has written many German-language novels and short stories depicting the hypocrisy and oppression of the post-World War II Romania where she was born. Inspired by her life, her recent writing deals with the alienation of living in political exile and was praised by the Nobel Prize committee for depicting the “landscape of the dispossessed” with “the concentration of poetry and the frankness of prose.”

In addition to the 2009 Nobel Prize for Literature, Müller’s work has earned the Kafka Prize, the Marieluise-Fleißer Prize, the Kranichsteiner Literary Prize, the Kleist Prize and the Aristeion Prize.

Müller came to Dickinson as a writer-in-residence in spring 1996 and was awarded an honorary fellowship the following year. She remains a friend of the college and keeps in touch with several members of the German faculty. Dickinson congratulates her on a distinguished career and this remarkable achievement.

Herta Müller's poetry will appear in the Fall, 2009 issue of Sirena. The bi-annual journal of poetry, art and criticism is published by The Johns Hopkins University Press for Dickinson's department of Spanish and Portuguese.