Eta Sigma Phi


Delta Theta Chapter, Dickinson College
"Lovers of Wisdom and Beauty are We . . ."

Athena with owl, Louvre


Photos - First Annual Eta Sigma Phi
Dinner: Plato's Birthday

Beware the Ides of March The slaying of Julius Caesar at Dickinson

Eta Sigma Phi is the national honor society for students of Greek, Latin, and Classical Studies. The society was founded in 1914 at the University of Chicago under the name Phi Sigma, and became a national society in 1924 under its current name. The purposes of Eta Sigma Phi are to encourage classical scholarship, enhance the appreciation of our Greek and Roman cultural heritage, and to promote good will and friendship among students of the classics.

One of Dickinson's first departmental honor societies, The Delta Theta chapter of Eta Sigma Phi was chartered on April 22, 1964. Our new officers are: Lilah Terwilliger local President, Louise Feder Vice President, Jessie Graul, Treasurer, Alice Ettling , Secretary, Kiki Fox, Historian.

Link to information on our Chimaera Club dedicated to the study of all things ancient.

Link to Gladiator spectacle sponsored by the Classics Department during Eta Sigma Phi convention held on Dickinson campus, 2000.


To learn more about the Delta Theta chapter, or about Eta Sigma Phi as a whole, contact Marc Mastrangelo, Chair of Classical Studies (, or chapter adviser, Assist. Professor Meghan Reedy (